Go to :

Fragen?

Design national

Main content:

What is a design?

The decision of consumers to purchase is very often dependent on a product’s appearance, its design. Provided it is new, you can legally protect a design by means of an application for a design right. Holding such a right makes it possible to legally protect yourself against imitators.

A design right protects the appearance of an industrial product. What it does not protect however, is the idea or invention upon which the product is based, a product’s production method or the like. Design protection encompasses all features that are visible to the human eye such as shape, color, gloss, surface structure, ornamentation etc.

It is necessary that you inform us about which products you seek legal protection for. As a first step, please obtain information through fact sheet MU 402 about the International Classification for Industrial Designs and the classes of goods the products you seek legal protection for pertain to. Merely specifying a class does not suffice, however. You must describe your products.

Please do not confuse designs with utility models. As in the case of patents utility models protect an invention in a technical field.

Application Formal Requirements

In order to more easily fulfil formal requirements please be sure to use form MU 1e (Single Design) or MU 1s as well as MUsBB (Multiple Design) when submitting your application. Bear in mind that your application must include at least one image of the design (photographs or drawings in duplicate form). The exception to this is secret design applications.

Who may apply – Legal Representation?

Anyone may file an application, regardless of whether they are a natural or legal entity (company).

Permanent address/registered officeIs a representative required?
AustriaNo (You are, however, entitled to have a representative. If the representative you choose is not a professional representative such as a patent law firm, law firm or notary’s office, you must present a written power of attorney.)
EEA/SwitzerlandNo (an authorised recipient in Austria is sufficient)
Outside the EEA/SwitzerlandYes (patent law firm, law firm or notary’s office)

This is how you can apply:

  • Online
  • Submittal at the Austrian Patent Office’s entry point
  • Posting the application via the Austrian Patent Office’s entry box
  • By mail
  •  Per telefax +43 (0)1 534 24 535

Applications by means of E-mail are not permissible.

Examination/Procedure

Subsequent to your design application said application is formally examined. Should there be any defects in this respect you will be requested – in writing – to rectify these. We must reject your application if your design contradicts the principle of public order or morality (legal examination).

Publication/Registration

Design registration in each case takes place on the 20th of the respective month. The Austrian Design Gazette publishes the registration, the registration is entered in the register and a sample certificate issued.

Duration of Protection/Contestation

The maximum duration of a design beginning with the date of application is 25 years. Expiry ensues upon failure to pay renewal fees, you renounce the protective right, or there is a declaration of nullity respecting the design. It is possible for third parties to contest the registered design (declaration of nullity application) should these be of the opinion that the design registration is not justified.

Design Infringement

Infringement of your design entitles you to sue for an injunction, removal, publication of the judgement, reasonable compensation, damages, disgorgement of profit, rendering of accounts as well as disclosure of origin of source and channels of commerce.

Please let us know if this page was helpful for you! Notice: After submitting this form you will stay on this page.

Was this page helpful to you?*

like & share

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Back to top

Springe direkt zu :

Design national

Schutz in Österreich für die äußere Form eines industriellen oder handwerklichen Erzeugnisses oder eines Teiles davon.

Hauptinhalt:

Was ist ein Designschutz?

Der Designschutz, auch als Musterschutz bezeichnet, schützt das Aussehen, d. h. die für das Auge wahrnehmbaren Merkmale eines gewerblichen Erzeugnisses. Dazu gehören beispielsweise die Farbe, die Form, die Oberflächenstruktur und der Werkstoff. Sowohl dreidimensionale als auch zweidimensionale Gegenstände können als Design (Muster) geschützt werden, wie beispielsweise Kleidung, Spielzeug, Möbel, Stoffe, Logos oder grafische Symbole.

Ein Design schützt jedoch nicht die hinter dem Produkt stehende Idee bzw. Erfindung, das Erzeugungsverfahren oder Ähnliches. Auch die Funktion eines Gegenstandes ist nicht geschützt. Bauelemente, die bei bestimmungsgemäßer Verwendung nicht sichtbar sind (z. B. Zündkerzen), können daher nicht als Design geschützt werden. Keinen Designschutz gibt es auch für Computerprogramme, wohl aber beispielsweise für Layouts von Websites.

Ein Designschutz stellt ein territorial und zeitlich begrenztes Ausschließungsrecht (Monopol, maximal 25 Jahre) dar und berechtigt Inhabende,  Dritte davon auszuschließen, den Gegenstand der Erfindung betriebsmäßig herzustellen, in Verkehr zu bringen, feilzuhalten oder zu gebrauchen.

Formalerfordernisse

Verwenden Sie in Ihrem eigenen Interesse das Formular für Einzelmuster (MU 1e) bzw. Sammelmuster (MU 1s) sowie das Beiblatt zu den Sammelmustern (MU 1s Beiblatt) für Ihre Anmeldung. So erfüllen Sie leichter die formalen Anforderungen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie mit Ihrer Anmeldung mindestens eine Musterabbildung (2-fach, Fotos oder Zeichnungen) überreichen müssen (Ausnahme: Geheimmusteranmeldung).

Wer kann anmelden - Vertretung?

Jeder, egal ob natürliche oder juristische Person (Unternehmen), kann anmelden.

Wohnsitz/NiederlassungBesteht Vetretungspflicht?
ÖsterreichNein (Sie können sich aber trotzdem vertreten lassen. Wenn Sie nicht durch berufsmäßige Vertreter wie Patentanwalts- oder Rechtsanwaltskanzlei oder Notariate vertreten sind, müssen Sie eine schriftliche Vollmacht vorlegen.)
EWR/SchweizNein (Es reicht eine österreichische Zustellbevollmächtigung)
Außerhalb EWR/SchweizJa (Patentanwalts- bzw. Rechtsanwaltskanzlei oder Notariate)

So können Sie anmelden:

  • Abgabe im Kundencenter
  • Einwurf in den Einwurfkasten
  • per Post
  • per Telefax +43 (0)1 534 24 535

Eine Anmeldung per E-Mail ist nicht zulässig.

Prüfung / Verfahren

Nachdem Sie Ihr Muster angemeldet haben, wird Ihre Anmeldung zunächst formal geprüft. Sollte Ihre Anmeldung Mängel haben, werden Sie schriftlich zur Behebung aufgefordert. Verstößt Ihr Muster gegen die öffentliche Ordnung oder guten Sitten, müssen wir Ihre Anmeldung zurückweisen.

Veröffentlichung / Registrierung

Die Musterregistrierung erfolgt jeweils am 20. eines Monats. Die Registrierung wird im Musteranzeiger veröffentlicht, im Register eingetragen und Ihnen ein Musterzertifikat ausgestellt.

Schutzdauer / Anfechtung

Die Höchstdauer eines Musters beträgt maximal 25 Jahre ab dem Anmeldetag. Es erlischt davor, wenn Sie die Erneuerungsgebühren nicht mehr zahlen, Sie auf das Schutzrecht verzichten oder das Muster nichtig erklärt wird. Dritte haben die Möglichkeit, das registrierte Muster anzufechten (Antrag auf Nichtigerklärung), wenn diese der Ansicht sind, das Muster hätte nicht registriert werden dürfen.

Musterverletzung

Wird Ihr Muster verletzt, können Sie auf Unterlassung, Beseitigung, Urteilsveröffentlichung, angemessenes Entgelt, Schadenersatz, Herausgabe des Gewinns, Rechnungslegung sowie Anspruch auf Auskunft über die Herkunft und den Vertriebsweg klagen.

Bitte hinterlassen Sie uns Feedback ob diese Seite hilfreich für Sie war! Hinweis: Nach dem Absenden des Formulars bleiben Sie auf dieser Seite

War diese Seite hilfreich für Sie?*

liken & teilen

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Springe zum Anfang der Seite